The David and Deborah Winston Fellowship in Diabetes Research was funded in 2012 for a graduate student doing research in laboratories of the Diabetes Diseases.

The fellowship is now awarded annually from the Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Lipid Research to an outstanding graduate student who has shown great promise in diabetes research. It provides $5,000 in support to the activities of the recipient.

2023 Winston Fellowship Awardees

Mandy Chan

Mandy Chan is a 6th-year Immunology PhD student in the lab of Joel Schilling, MD, PhD and an awardee for the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program. Her doctoral research focuses on understanding the biology of liver resident macrophages during the development of metabolic dysfunction-associated fatty liver diseases. Specifically, she studies the mechanism of liver macrophage survival and interplay with lipid-laden hepatocytes during obesity. She has presented her work at local and national immunology and diabetes conferences throughout her graduate school years and has authored or co-authored 4 peer-reviewed publications.

Jeongmin Lee

Jeongmin Lee is a Graduate Student in Molecular Genetics and Genomics program, working in the Laboratory of David W. Piston, Ph.D., within the Department of Cell Biology and Physiology. Her research focuses on the purification and identification of secreted proteins from brown adipose tissue (BAT) that hold potential to reverse hyperglycemia and hyperglucagonemia in Type 1 Diabetes (T1D). Additionally, her project investigates the molecular mechanisms through which BAT-secreted proteins inhibit glucagon secretion in pancreatic α-cells, aiming to contribute to our understanding of islet biology and T1D management. Throughout her graduate training, she has presented her work through oral and poster presentations at the American Diabetes Association Scientific Session, the International Congress of Diabetes and Metabolism, and Diabetes Day Symposium at WashU.

Previous Awardees


Chang Gui
Meyer Muscle Lab, led by Gretchen Meyer, PhD


Yiming Zhang
DeBosch Lab, led by Brian DeBosch


Punn Augsornworawat
Millman Lab, led by Jeffrey Millman


Arthur Sletten
Schaffer Lab, led by Jean Schaffer


Trent Evans
Razani Lab, led by Babak Razani


Jonathan Lin
Apte Lab, led by Rajendra Apte


Rebecca Schugar
Crawford Lab, led by Peter Crawford